Ivanhoe Classic 2019

This year’s Good Friday Classic was held in perfect weather conditions.  The green was running beautifully and no wind. The day was superbly organised by Ken Montgomery and Rob Waddell. Brilliant!

The Classic was sponsored by Angove Wines and Nelson Alexander.  The club thanks the sponsors for contributions to the day.

Twenty four  teams competed with representation from the following club – Brunswick, Montmorency, Rosanna, City of Heidelberg, Doncaster, Fairfield, Bundoora, City of Heidelberg, Webbcona (Wendouree), Albert Park, Lalor, Greensborough, Hurstbridge, Burwood District, East Ivanhoe, Mitcham and Ivanhoe.

The format of the day was 4 games each of 9 ends.  Lunch of Fish, chips and salad were served after the 2nd game. Thanks to all those who assisted in the preparation of the lunch and after game hot cross buns. Winners determined by games won, then ends and then shots up.

The competition was fierce with multiple three game winners going into the last game.  In the end we had  three four game winners.

This years’ Classic winners with 65 points were

 Daryl Chidley, Debbie Code, Alan Willocks and Cliff Lynch from Ivanhoe

The runners up with 64 points were

Tom Ristic, Ian Mackay, Ann McGill & Gillian Baxter (MCC/Ivanhoe Composite side).

Matt Cursio’s side from Doncaster was in third place with 61 points.

Prizes for Best games went to

Best First Game:  P. Templeton, A. Draffen, A. Van Der Ploeg & E. Hart (not pictured) (Webbcona/Ivanhoe)
Best Second Game: G. Tuck, C. Gilmore, B, Wilson & R. Coe (Montmorency)
Best Third Game: M. Hunt, M. Tilley, P. Bennett & B. Grennan (Rosanna)

Best Fourth Game: G. Sodaitis, M. Crittenden, J. Beach (not pictured) & J. Brown (Burwood District).


At the end of the day we had a novelty event of closest to the pin using specially modified bowls.  The winner of this was Glen Sodaitis from Burwood District.

Everyone enjoyed the day, with many vowing to return again next year.